Chief Executive & Senior Leadership Team

Our Chief Executive and Senior Leadership Team, like all staff employed by Babergh and Mid Suffolk District Councils, work equally across both Councils:


Arthur Charvonia, Chief Executive

Phone the Personal Assistant to the Chief Executive and Council Leaders, Deborah Largent: 01473 296335


Kathy Nixon, Deputy Chief Executive

Phone Kathy's Executive Support Officer, Michelle Markwell: 01449 724640


Melissa Evans, Director for Corporate Resources

Phone Melissa's Executive Support Officer, Deanna Scille: 01449 724572

Phone Melissa's Executive Support Officer, Tina Taylor: 01449 724810

Melissa holds the statutory position of Chief Finance Officer (Section 151 Officer) and is responsible for:

  • Housing Benefit and Council Tax Reduction Scheme
  • Commissioning and Procurement
  • Finance
  • Revenues (Council Tax and Business Rates collection)


Mark Emms, Director of Operations and Regulatory Services

Phone Mark's Executive Support Officer, Keeley Whitlock: 01449 724588

Mark is responsible for:

  • Waste and Recycling
  • Public Realm Services
  • Health and Safety
  • Environmental Protection
  • Food Safety
  • Licensing


Ifty Ali, Interim Director for Law and Governance

Phone Ifty's Executive Support Officer, Keeley Whitlock: 01449 724588

Ifty holds the statutory positions of Monitoring Officer, Data Protection Officer and Deputy Returning Officer; and is responsible for:

  • Civic Office
  • Data Protection
  • Electoral Services
  • Land Charges
  • Governance
  • Councillor Support and Development
  • Information Management
  • Internal Audit
  • Legal Service
  • The Constitution and Councillor Conduct


Fiona Duhamel, Director for Economic Development and Climate Change

Phone Fiona's Executive Assistant Jacqui Kiewiet: 01449 724888

Fiona is responsible for:

  • Delivery of Non-Housing Capital Build Projects
  • Economic Development and Business Support including business grants
  • Inward Investment
  • Regeneration projects
  • 5 key towns' "Visions and Invest" programmes
  • Climate Change and Sustainable Travel
  • Parking Strategy and Operation


Tom Barker, Director for Planning and Building Control

Phone Tom's Executive Assistant Jacqui Kiewiet: 01449 724888

Tom is responsible for:

  • Development Management
  • Infrastructure
  • Strategic Planning
  • Planning Enforcement
  • Heritage
  • Building Control


Di Robinson, Director for Communities and Wellbeing

Phone Di's Executive Support Officer, Michelle Markwell: 01449 724640

Di is responsible for:

  • Community Development
  • Community Grants
  • Community Safety
  • Communities Wellbeing
  • Leisure, sport and physical activity
  • Integrated Partnerships


Emily Atack, Director for Assets and Investments
(and Managing Director of CIFCO and Gateway 14)

Phone Emily's Executive Personal Assistant, Sarah Ford: 01449 724656

Emily is responsible for:

  • Assets and Investments
  • MD of our Limited Companies


Sara Wilcock, Director for Customer Services, Digital Transformation and Improvement

Phone Sara's Executive Support Officer, Tina Taylor: 01449 724810

Sara is responsible for:

  • Policy and Corporate Performance
  • Data and Insight
  • Corporate Improvement and Risk Management
  • Executive Support
  • Communications and Engagement
  • Customer Services (including web, telephony and in-person access)
  • FOI and Digital Skills
  • ICT and Geographical Information System (GIS)
  • Programme Management Office


Deborah Fenton, Director for Housing

Phone Deborah's Executive Support Officer, Keeley Whitlock: 01449 724588

Deborah is responsible for:

  • Building Services
    • Asset Compliance
    • Asset Management
    • Repairs and Maintenance
    • Voids
  • Housing Solutions
    • Choice Based Lettings
    • Homelessness and Homelessness Prevention
    • Housing Policy and Strategy
    • Private Sector Housing
    • Rough Sleeper Services
    • Strategic Housing
    • Temporary Accommodation
  • Tenant Services
    • Anti-Social Behaviour
    • Income Collection
    • Leaseholder Services
  • Neighbourhoods Team
  • Right to Buy
  • Sheltered Housing
  • Tenancy Management


Download our organisational structure chart